Buddhist programmes from Sussex College network to mark Sambuddhathva Jayanthi

The Sunday Times, June 26, 2011

Colombo, Sri Lanka -- The Sussex college network conducted a range of Buddhist programmes to commemorate the Wesak festival, the Poson Festival and the Sambuddhathva Jayanthi in their branches island wide.

The objectives of conducting these Buddhist programmes are inculcating Buddhist values in the students of the Sussex network of colleges and pointing them towards a lifestyle of religious ideals. Under the guidance of the Sussex college network Chairman K.A.S. Jayathissa, these programmes were conducted in 20 colleges of the Sussex network including Nugegoda, Kiribathgoda, Ambalangoda, Anuradhapura, Galle, Kandy, Horana and Bandarawela branches. The Sussex college network has planned to conduct these programmes throughout the year.

Among these Buddhist programmes held with the participation of students, parents and the staff, alms givings, observing Sil, meditation, conducting Bodhi Poojas and Buddha Poojas, Bhakthi Geetha programmes, listening to sermons, lighting Wesak lanterns, Pahan Pooja, designing Wesak Greeting Cards and art exhibitions took pride of place. The specialty of these programmes is that even though students belonging to various religions and nationalities study at the Sussex network of colleges, all of them participated and gave their fullest co-operation to make these programmes a success.

The Nugegoda branch of the Sussex college network is working towards establishing an inter-religious fellowship association and conducting public welfare programmes such as helping the elderly, hospital service and assisting students with economic difficulties.

The Sussex English medium college network teaching the Sri Lankan syllabus in the English medium is the largest English medium network of colleges in Sri Lanka and the first to achieve the ISO 9001:2000 global standard. The branches of the Sussex network of colleges are located in Anuradhapura, Kurunegala, Nuwara Eliya, Badulla, Kandy, Bandarawela, Ratnapura, Kegalle, Galle, Matara, Ambalangoda, Gampaha, Malabe, Horana, Kuliyapitiya, Nugegoda, Kiribathgoda, Negombo, Wennappuwa and Ampara. The Sri Lankan syllabus is taught in the English medium from pre-school level to Advanced Level at the Sussex network of colleges, and the necessary text books have been already prepared.